Info Minister Swears in New GPCL Board…Charges Them to Consolidate Gains

From left: Hon. Paul Twum-Barimah, Mad. Lawuratu Musah-Saaka, Dr. Daniel Owusu-Ansah, Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Mr. David Boateng, Mrs. Beatrice Barwuah and Dr. Kingsley Nyarko.

The Minister for Information, Honourable Kojo Oppong Nkrumah has sworn in seven new Board Members of the Ghana Publishing Company Limited (GPCL). 

At a brief ceremony at the Ministry of Information, the Minister tasked the new Board Members to consolidate the gains the company had made in the last four years to strategically position it as the spearhead of the publishing industry in Ghana. 

“As you start this new tenure, one of the first things I will like you to do is to work hard to consolidate the gains that have been achieved so far in the first term. We must build on the kind of transformation that was started. Particularly, we must improve on the volumes of business that the organization is doing and the financial returns that it is bringing. We need to focus on the efficiency programmes that have been introduced so that we can build higher height on it,” he stressed. 

The GPCL in the last few years had undergone structural transformation. The company that was previously challenged and could not fully execute its printing and publishing mandate had been revamped and retooled as the principal state printing and publishing institution solely responsible for printing and publishing government works.

The Minister was optimistic at the prospects of the publishing company and challenged the newly reconstituted Board Members to continue this path of progress and as well ensure strong corporate governance to guide and promote sound governance and institutional performance. 

According to him, the only way GPCL could function properly was for the company to take to digitization as a way of keeping in tune with consumer demands.  He encouraged the new Board Members to infuse best practices in the publishing industry into the management of the publishing company to make it one of the profitable State-Owned Enterprises (SOEs) in the country.

The Board is chaired by Dr. Daniel Owusu-Ansah with Mr. David Boateng Asante, Hon. Paul Twum-Barimah, Dr. Kingsley Nyarko, Madam Lawuratu Musah-Saaka, Mrs. Beatrice Barwuah and Isaac Kofi Appiah as members.

The Minister administering the oath to the new board members

Source: MOI (PR Unit)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here